Nano Electronics in Beyond Moore’s Law Era

Dr. Meyya Meyyappan
NASA Ames Research Center

The Heterogeneous Integration Roadmap (HIR), jointly sponsored by IEEE (Electron Devices Society, Nanotechnology Council), ASME and SEMI, is currently working on a Roadmap for Beyond Moore’s Law era.  Heterogeneous Integration refers to the integration of separately manufactured components into a higher level assembly that, in the aggregate, provides enhanced functionality and improved operating characteristics. One of the 20 working groups focuses on Emerging Research Devices and as the Chair of the ERD Working Group, I am aware of about 15 different candidates including neuromorphic devices, quantum devices and many others.  After a quick introduction, I will discuss two of the emerging areas: nanoscale vacuum electronics, printed electronics.

We have been fabricating nanoscale vacuum tubes over the last four years using entirely and exclusively silicon technology. Vacuum is superior to any semiconductor in terms of electron transport, in addition to being immune to all radiations. We have combined the best of vacuum transport and silicon technology to fabricate surround gate nanoscale vacuum transistors on 8 " wafers with a channel dimension of 50 nm. These vacuum transistors, operating at a drive voltage of only 2 V, which is remarkable for vacuum devices, have the potential for THz electronics and several other applications.

This talk will also provide an overview of emerging printable electronics including gas sensors, biosensors, memory devices, energy storage devices, antennas, triboelectric nanogenerators and others.  In addition to printing the devices and integration of the devices into systems, tool development is receiving attention, rightfully so in order to meet the anticipated demands of internet of things (IoT).  An atmospheric pressure plasma jet printing technology enable a one-step printing without the need for post-deposition thermal treatment.  This is an alternative to inkjet printing for printing conducting, semiconducting, insulating and other materials on a variety of flexible substrates.  The author thanks Jin-Woo Han, Ram Prasad Gandhiraman, Jessica Kohene, Dongil Moon, Myeonglok Seol, Sunjin Kim, Beomseok Kim, and Kyung Jean Yoon.


Dr. Meyya Meyyappan

Meyya Meyyappan is Chief Scientist for Exploration Technology at NASA Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, CA. Until June 2006, he served as the Director of the Center for Nanotechnology. He is a founding member of the Interagency Working Group on Nanotechnology (IWGN) established by the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). The IWGN is responsible for putting together the National Nanotechnology Initiative.

Dr. Meyyappan has authored or co-authored over 370 articles in peer-reviewed journals and made over 250 Invited/Keynote/Plenary Talks in nanotechnology subjects across the world and over 250 seminars at universities. His research interests include carbon nanotubes, graphene, and various inorganic nanowires, their growth and characterization, and application development in chemical and biosensors, instrumentation, electronics and optoelectronics.

Dr. Meyyappan is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Electrochemical Society (ECS), American Vacuum Society (AVS), Materials Research Society (MRS), Institute of Physics (IOP), American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), American Institute of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), National Academy of Inventors, and the California Council of Science and Technology. He is currently the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) Distinguished Lecturer, and he was the Distinguished Lecturer on Nanotechnology for both the IEEE Nanotechnology Council and ASME.  He is currently the President-Elect of IEEE-EDS.
For his contributions and leadership in nanotechnology, he has received numerous awards including: a Presidential Meritorious Award; NASA's Outstanding Leadership Medal; Arthur Flemming Award given by the Arthur Flemming Foundation and the George Washington University; IEEE Judith Resnick Award; IEEE-USA Harry Diamond Award; AIChE Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum Award; Distinguished Engineering Achievement Award by the Engineers' Council; Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology by the IEEE-NTC; Sir Monty Finniston Award by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK); Outstanding Engineering Achievement Merit Award by the Engineers' Council; IEEE-USA Professional Achievement Award; AVS Nanotechnology Recognition Award; IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Merit Award; Distinguished Grumman Project Engineering Award by the Engineers' Council; AVS Plasma Prize. For his sustained contributions to nanotechnology, he was inducted into the Silicon Valley Engineering Council Hall of Fame in 2009. He has received Honorary Doctorate from the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa and Concordia University, Montreal, Canada.

For his educational contributions, he has received: Outstanding Recognition Award from the NASA Office of Education; the Engineer of the Year Award (2004) by the San Francisco Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); IEEE-EDS Education Award; IEEE-EAB (Educational Activities Board) Meritorious Achievement Award in Continuing Education.